• Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Terry's Photos

Gordon Ramsay – Humbie Pie (review)

Please excuse me if there a little more spelling errors than usual – I’m away on my little eeepc and I still havent properly gotten used to the tiny keyboard yet.

Read Humble Pie today by Gordon Ramsay. In typical Terry reading style I think this is a record. The only other novel i finished in one day was Fight Club, and that’s because it’s such a tny book.

What’s it about? It’s Ramsay’s Autobiography and it’s not too bad. After reading his novel, you can tell why he is the way he is. Abusive, terrible childhood onto abusive reactions from some of the best chefs in the world. I’m not saying he’s an absolute bastard, but you can tell why he loses his temper and why he expects perfection in the kitchen. After working his arse off from nothing, you’re damn right he’s not going to settle for second best.

Even going into his personal life, he’s quite up to admitting he’s not alwys been a model citizen. What’s surprising though given his “take no nonsense” approach to life is how much he constantly gives to his junky brother in his life. I have to say, that chapter seems like more “here’s my side of the story” than anything else – at books release his brother was going to the tabloids and talking about Gordon to feed his habit.

Apart from that, he doesn’t talk about his wife or family too much. Focuses on his early years and his legal woes there to his restaurant empire and beng on TV. He kind of brushes through those difficult early years when he was working for some very dodgy characters. Understandable I suppose, but sometimes your left going “who is he talking about here, again?” I’ve heard his second biography book is more about the business side to it all. Maybe he talks about it more there? Anyways, I like reading about these peoples lives, not their business lives. I don’t think I’ll get the second book.

This book was good, but his style of writing felt a bit impersonal, like it was hard enough for him to write what he has. Almost if he were telling this to a reporter and not his diary. I recently read Richard Hammond’s book about his terrible crash and that felt far more personal. Still worth the read and not as much swearing at all in it. What’s got into you, man!

