• Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Terry's Photos

On Warcraft and Olympics…

Just an update of sorts. Quiet weekend off the internet, well chatting anyways. Father (boss) was here for the weekend, so I caught up on some gaming.

It’s kinda funny. I had a lot of problems with WoW in the past which I found out had to do with a graphics card that had a dead fan. Kinda funny, Windows and normal things, like dvd watching, programs, no issues. The heat sink was doing the job. The moment I load up a game, reboot time. For ages I thought it was WoW and a patch that was giving a lot of people grief – when I installed Neverwinter Knights 2 again and discovered it was doing the same thing, I figured it out.

Anyways. Logging back onto my PvP server and getting all the things I put off last time I was playing the game. You know, better equipment, training, skills etc. All of a sudden I’m left with about 1 gold, enough to get me going. Wrong. I don’t know If I was blind in the past, but the attacks by Horde since I left had just gotten worse. I couldn’t travel anywhere without getting attacked. After one high level undead who was camping me for an afternoon, I decided I had enough. I was going to leave the game for the night, watch some telly and start looking into a PvE server the next day and pay for the transfer. The next day I log in. Ask a few people in the channels “what’s a decent PvE” got the idiotic responses one usually expects in a youtube discussion. I went down the beach just out of Booty Bay where I bumped into a random character. We grouped up for a couple of quests and I commented now I’m going to have to grind for a while to get some more gold so I can get back into it all – he hands me 100 gold.

Yeah, not complaining, I asked him “are you sure?” his reply was he was given heaps of gold by a friend and didn’t know what to do with it (i suggested to him save it up for his epic mount, but he shrugged). The night after, I wander to Gadgetzan where a few randoms invite me to Zul Farakk and I get a whole heap of decent gear to sell in the auction house. And constant invites to come back. I’m tempted, it’s kind of hard work but the team work is a lot of fun when it works. Mind you, I’m not the best tank in the world, before this I’ve only ever done the Deadmines once. It just goes to show there’s assholes and decent people in the PvP. For the time being, I shall remain…

What did everyone think about the Olympics? I’m not the biggest sporting person in the world and there’s a hell of a lot more important things in the world going on, but the opening ceremony was truly amazing. The amount of time and effort that went into that, well I just think London have a lot of planning to do before then… Hah… And it was probably the most I’ve twitter, giving a running commentary (like anyone cared) but also fun to talk to others while it was happening as well….

One Response

  1. I have never WoWed. I decided early on to avoid it, lest it devour my soul.

    The opening ceremony was indeed magnificent. Twitter commentary was a blast, and I thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

