• Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Terry's Photos

The battle of the boxsets

I thought I’d add something to this so called “HD war”, or whatever you want to call it.

If you haven’t read already, Toshiba have stopped making HD DVD, which was the last part of the puzzle. Most had suspected this for a while, but this was the nail in the coffin. MS are already thinking about a Blu-Ray addon for the xbox, and I’m glad I didn’t get the HD addon for the 360 I own.

Actually, I’ll be honest. I don’t know how long I will wait until I buy something Blu-ray. Okay, my sound system needs updating, but I do have a TV capable of supporting it now. But, to me the quality of DVDs now are pretty impressive. And a watch a lot of xvid/divx stuff as it is now streamed to the 360. My favourite show is Dr. Who, which is costing the BBC money getting the classic series up to DVD specs (and doing one of the best jobs in the DVD business, I may add). So quality isn’t the biggest factor. And with download speeds and compression technology getting better and better, will the next war be a war of file formats? I know there’s people who will always want the physical product (look at CD sales) but a lot already download most of their stuff as is. I’ve said before, I wouldn’t mind paying a couple of bucks a week to get a good quality, ads free episode of Lost. The amount of fake/faulty torrents online makes that very appealing.

There’s also talk of a downloading version of Netflix coming to xbox dashboard. Think of it – You turn on your xbox, pick which episodes you want to buy and bingo. There is the small problem of getting it off your 360, but for some people they may want to watch it once and thats it. To do so with Itunes, you get a sub-average download and need to buy another product to add to your tv. The 360 is already plugged in. Most already have it hooked up to the net.

Of course, who knows if any of this will ever come to places outside of the USA. We can dream, and run Tversity in the meantime…

Leave a Reply

